The Long Winter ~ Part 2

Aren’t you impressed I am actually posting 2 days in a row?! That is a record for me lately.

IMG_5037Jack came up with a game that involves going camping and having a picnic. You may notice they have stones in their bowls. They love reading Stone Soup (we have read many versions from the library) and acting it out. One night for dinner, we made a real stone soup (or dump soup as Seth’s family calls it) and manna from a recipe in Jack’s devotional book.

Books and food are always winners with my kids!

IMG_4947Jack has an invention basket. Basically, it is full of trash treasures that can be turned into anything he wants to build at the time.

I helped him make a snow plow one day and he had a ton of fun plowing up the pom-poms. Those fuzzy balls have been so many play things!

IMG_5227Blocks are another item that get played with a LOT.

I have read articles on the benefits of block play. Children go through different stages as they play with them through the years. Ella was at the lining up stage until one day she created this out of the blue. She was pretty happy with herself! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4959I wanted a moveable alphabet for Jack but I’m a bit too frugal to pay Montessori catalog prices. I bought these wooden letters instead at Michaels with a coupon. Jack had a lot of fun helping me punch them out of the sheets.

IMG_4965We had a big painting party!

IMG_5019I painted only 1 side to prevent him from facing the letters the wrong direction. He did a good job and I’m sure these will come in handy this upcoming Kindergarten year. By the way, I still can hardly believe we have reached the school years.

IMG_5157These kids are too cute!

They love books and singing so, why not combine them?! They were pretending they were in church. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_5031Seth has an amazing garden planned for us and he helped the kids plant some seeds. Our little plants are really growing and will be going outside soon!

IMG_5137We got outside as much as we could too. Jack has had fun with a pulley (like) system I rigged up for him.

I remember having all kinds of grand plans for my garage as a kid. I think it involved moving baskets that brought me things along a line of ropes…it never happened.

We have a vintage copy ofย Andrew Henry’s Meadow that belonged to my grandma. Andrew Henry has some pretty elaborate pulley inventions and amazing building skills .

I don’t know who loves it more, me or Jack? ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_5248Water play, inside and out, has been one of Ella’s favorite things to do. Many wardrobe changes have ensued but it has been totally worth it for the amount of time it has kept her busy!

So, there you have it. Some of the things that kept the kids busy this winter.

If nothing else, at least I will have these things documented for future ideas when I stand amongst the chaos that small kids can bring!

I LOVE hearing from you! Thanks for leaving me a comment!

